The CE Bill was developed by scientists, academics and lawyers, along with members of the Big Ask campaign, which led to the Climate Change Act back in 2008. The campaign for the CE Bill was launched in August 2020 and the CE Bill introduced in Parliament the following month as a Private Members’ Bill. The Bill was tabled in the House of Lords this summer by our ally Lord Redesdale and it will be re-tabled in the Commons this Autumn.


The Bill was first introduced in September 2020 and gained the maximum support of cosponsors with 12 members of parliament (MPs) from seven different parties. Cosponsors are MPs who put their name to a Bill in order to present it in Parliament.

The Bill (like nearly all Private Member's Bills) fell in the last Parliament. CE Bill has been updated, strengthened and will be reintroduced in Parliament again as a Private Members' Bill this autumn.

Caroline Lucas (Green) was the primary sponsor of the Bill again, alongside the following co-sponsors; Barry Gardiner (Labour), Clive Lewis (Labour), Alex Sobel (Labour), Ed Davey (Lib Dem), Sarah Olney (Lib Dem), Alan Brown (SNP), Brendan O'Hara (SNP), Ben Lake (Plaid Cymru), Liz Saville-Roberts (Plaid Cymru), Stephen Farry (Alliance) and Claire Hanna (Social Democrat and Labour Party).